He Karakia Mihinare o Aotearoa

Ka aru mātou i a te Karaiti,
Tui, tui, tuituia mātou.
Tuia ki te mamae.
Tuia ki te tūmanako,
Tui, tui, tuia ki te ora.

Called to follow Christ, help us to reconcile and unite.
Called to suffer, give us hope in our calling.

– He Karakia Mihinare o Aotearoa | A New Zealand Prayer Book

The Archbishops and Primates are the Senior Bishops of Tikanga Māori, Tikanga Pākehā, and Tikanga Pasefika, equally sharing the Primacy in Te Hāhi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Ngā Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa (The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia).

Te Hāhi Mihinare is a member of the Anglican Communion, a fellowship of autonomous Anglican Churches throughout the world. The Churches are bound together by the four instruments of communion: Archbishop of Canterbury; Lambeth Conference; Anglican Consultative Council; and the Primates’ Meeting.

Both within and outside the Church the Archbishops are viewed not only as spokespersons, but as teachers, preachers, and advocates; they are looked to as providers of pastoral care, spiritual guidance, and theological insight and instruction. They are required to represent the Church in matters of government and community, answering questions in courtrooms and in front of the media. They are regularly sought as patrons, keynote speakers, contributors, and governors. Internationally, the Archbishops are increasingly called upon to provide theological and spiritual insight from the context of the Three Tikanga Church; they are asked to offer wisdom into a myriad of spaces and contexts, including indigenous, theological education, ecumenical, interfaith, and community service networks.


The Most Reverend Don Tamihere
The Most Reverend

Don Tamihere

Tikanga Māori

The Most Reverend

Justin Duckworth

Tikanga Pākehā

The Most Reverend

Sione Ulu’ilakepa

Tikanga Pasefika


In 1841, George Augustus Selwyn became the first Archbishop of Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, under the title of Bishop of New Zealand and Metropolitan. There have been many changes in leadership and title over the last 182 years, bringing us to the shared primacy that we know today.